West Yorkshire Archives

Last updated on March 14th, 2019 at 04:11 pm

Preserving the past, serving the present, protecting the future

West Yorkshire Archive Service

Preserving the past, serving the present, protecting the future

The West Yorkshire Archive Service (WYJAS) collects and looks after the unique documentary heritage of the region – over 800 years of local history – and helps members of the public use and enjoy these records.
Through their five district offices WYAS can help you:

  • discover your family history
  • learn about your local area
  • care for your collections

WYAS is funded by the five councils in West Yorkshire – Wakefield, Leeds, Bradford, Kirklees and Calderdale and is part of the West Yorkshire Joint Services.

More information about West Yorkshire Archive Service can be found here

WYAS Collections

WYAS collections cover a vast array of topics and subjects across all aspects of the heritage of West Yorkshire. WYAS collection strengths include:

  • Church Records
  • Family and Estate Records
  • Local Authority Records
  • Hospital and Health Records
  • Trade Union Records
  • Manufacturing Business Records

Other collection areas include;

  • Local Clubs and Societies (including records of Calderdale Family History Society)
  • Cultural and ethnic groups
  • Small local businesses
  • Popular culture
  • Charitable organisations
  • Political papers
  • Non-Christian faith based groups

Two collections held by WYAS are part of the UNESCO UK Memory of the World Register

WYJAS has an online catalogue which can be used to search the collections held across all five offices of WYAS.